A brief history of the Acropolis
Positioned on the western edge of the city, on the top of the hill of Saint Stefanos, the Acropolis of Rhodes and its imposing Temple of Apollo, are dominant features of the urban landscape. Unlike most of the ancient “acropoleis” it was not fortified. It consisted of a monumental zone with sanctuaries, large temples, public buildings and underground cult places.
The buildings were built on stepped terraces supported by strong retaining walls. The style of the Hellenistic architecture on the Acropolis of Rhodes was perfectly conveyed by the combination of natural beauty and artificial transformations.
The buildings on the Acropolis date back to the Hellenistic and late Hellenistic periods.
The excavations were carried out by the Italian Archaeological School during the Italian occupation of the island (1912-1945).
From 1946 onwards the Greek Archaeological Service conducted excavations which enriched our knowledge of the history and topography of the place.
The whole of the Acropolis has not yet been excavated. An archaeological zone of 12,500 square meters cannot be built upon with the intention of continuing excavation works to uncover the splendid ancient city of Rhodes.
From 1946 onwards the Greek Archaeological Service carried out restoration works in the area of the Temple of Pythian Apollo, which has suffered considerable damage from a Second World War bombing and from the weight of the artillery that had been installed there. During the 60s and 70s the west foundation of the same temple was reconstructed, while in 1996 further reconstruction was carried out on the Temple of the Nymphaia.
The Acropolis of Rhodes is one of the most interesting and fascinating archeological sites one can visit. Located close to the city and surrounded by unspoiled nature, it is the favorite jogging and walking place for modern Rhodians.
The lower part that includes the large Stadium, is also safe for young children.